Modelling of REactive particulate flows for Low Energy Sustainable processes

Logos

 ANR-14-CE05-0042

A 4 years project from mars 2015 to August 2019.

 

Many industrial processes like coal combustion, catalytic cracking, gas phase polymerization reactors and more recently biomass gasification and chemical looping involve two-phase reactive flows in which the continuous phase is a fluid and the dispersed phase consists of rigid particles.

 

Improving both the design and the operating conditions of these processes represents a major scientific and industrial challenge in a context of markedly rising energy cost and sustainable development (MORE control 4 LESS environmental footprint).

 

Thus, it is above all important to better understand the coupling of hydrodynamic, chemical and thermal phenomena in those flows in order to be able to predict them reliably.

 

The aim of MORE4LESS is to build up a multi-scale modelling approach of reactive particulate flows and to focus on the development of what we consider to be the weakest link, i.e. the mesoscopic-scale Euler/Lagrange model including heat and mass transfers and chemical reactions for the prediction of particle-laden flows in dense and dilute regimes.

This new modelling will be implemented in a massively parallel numerical code that will enable us to take a step towards the enhanced design of semi-industrial processes.

 

Version française

Pour la version française, cliquer ici Version Francaise

 

Workshop in France

Numerical modelling and experimental measurements of reactive and non-reactive particulate flows to  be  held on the Roscoff biological station, France on April  25-27 2017.

The Organising Committee is part of the two French ANR projects : MORE4LESS and CODSPIT and it is made up of Eric Climent (Director of IMFT, Toulouse and Professor INP-ENSEEIHT), Gilles Bouchet (Researcher in the Particles Flow Group of is IUSTI-CNRS, Marseille)  and Karine Truffin (Researcher at IFPEN, Rueil-Malmaison in the field of LES modelling of reactive flows) .

Financial support is granted by la Fondation de Recherche pour l'Aéronautique et l'Espace (FRAE).

 

Video

Simulation of a reactive fluidized bed reactor using CFD/DEM.

Y. Dufresne, V. Moureau, E. Masi, O. Simonin and J. Horwitz,  CTR, Stanford 2016

 

To download the movie, click here : video_FBR

 |  Legal information © IFP Energies nouvelles / IFP 2011

Modélisation des écoulements particulaires réactifs pour les procédés durables à faible impact énergétique

 

Logos

 ANR-14-CE05-0042

Un projet de 4 ans, de mars 2015 à août 2019.

 

De nombreux procédés industriels comme la combustion du charbon, le craquage catalytique, les réacteurs de polymérisation en phase gazeuse et plus récemment la gazéification de la biomasse et la combustion en boucle chimique impliquent des écoulements réactifs diphasiques dans lesquels la phase continue est le fluide et la phase dispersée est constituée de particules solides.

 

L’aide à la conception et à l’amélioration des conditions de fonctionnements de ces procédés représente un défi scientifique et industriel majeur dans le contexte de la flambée des coûts de l’énergie et  du développement soutenable (MORE control 4 LESS environmental footprint).

 

Il est donc, plus que tout, crucial de mieux comprendre les phénomènes couplés hydrodynamiques, chimiques et thermiques dans ces écoulements afin de pouvoir les prédire avec précision.

 

L’objectif de MORE4LESS est donc de proposer une approche de modélisation multi-échelles des écoulements particulaires réactifs.  En particulier, nous concentrons nos efforts de modélisation sur l’approche mésoscopique Euler/Lagrange, qui représente le point faible, dans la prédiction des écoulements réactifs denses et dilués.

Ces nouveaux modèles seront implantés dans le code LES massivement parallèle YALES2, nous permettant ainsi de franchir un pas décisif vers l’optimisation des procédés semi-industriels.

 

English Version

For the English Version, please click here English Version

 

Workshop en France

Numerical modelling and experimental measurements of reactive and non-reactive particulate flows

aura lieu au centre de conférence de la station biologique de  Roscoff, France du 25 au 27 Avril 2017.

Le comité d’organisation (Eric Climent, Directeur de l' IMFT, Toulouse et Professeur INP-ENSEEIHT, Gilles Bouchet, chercheur dans le groupe Particles Flow de l' IUSTI-CNRS, Marseille et Karine Truffin, chercheure à IFPEN, Rueil-Malmaison dans le domaine de la modélisation LES des écoulements réactifs) fait partie des deux projets ANR: MORE4LESS et CODSPIT.

Ce workshop bénificiera du soutien financier de la Fondation de Recherche pour l'Aéronautique et l'Espace (FRAE).

Video

Simulation of a reactive fluidized bed reactor using CFD/DEM.

Y. Dufresne, V. Moureau, E. Masi, O. Simonin and J. Horwitz,  CTR, Stanford 2016

 

Pour télécharger la vidéo, cliquer ici : video_FBR

 

 |  Mentions légales © IFP Energies nouvelles / IFP 2011